Unbounded

A poem I wrote during my last semester of college (while trying to avoid studying):

******

Oh to be an infant again!

To see the earth through eager eyes

There are no assumptions, only discoveries.

My heart burns with passion,

Shivers down my spine.

I breathe in deeply,

And what I seek envelops me completely.

I exhale and I am brought back to reality.

What is this reality I am seeking?

I want to feel the breeze against my skin.

I want to feel the grains of sand against my soles.

I want to smell the richness of the earth,

And taste the salt of a vast sea on my lips.

I want to be carried by the wind,

And sing and shout and scream into a deafening silence.

I want to swallow the velvety crimson of the sunset with my eyes.

As raindrops dilute tears and doubt is washed away,

And music gets massaged into the body’s every cell.

I want to walk down a red carpet of smoldering dust,

And be blinded by the ash of fantasy set ablaze.

Where sea salt drips and fruit juice crystallizes,

Where pebbles ripen, and blood flows from stones.

I want to carve silver flutes from moonbeams,

And shoot them like arrows at the sun.

I want to switch places with my shadow,

And disappear at the day’s end.

I want to come face to face with beauty

And be so devastated that I weep.

I want to smear my body with the colors that drip like paint from a canvas.

I want to shed all that I have known and just be.

I want to feel my life breath fuse with the rhapsody of the earth.

I want to decompose into pure joy.

Oh to be an infant again!

To see the earth through eager eyes

There are no assumptions, only discoveries.

3 thoughts on “Unbounded

Leave a Reply

